Food I’ve Eaten: Poached Chicken and Quinoa (GF, Paleo)

PhotoGrid_1418753549103

What a week! The holidays have really kicked into full gear; over the course of 5 days, I’ve attended two work functions, a tree trimming, a house lighting, and a birthday party. On Sunday, when I had a little downtime in the morning, I quickly poached some chicken and threw together a quinoa salad. This chicken is simple, tasty, and versatile, and because poached chicken will keep for a few days in the refrigerator, it’s a handy protein for quick meals. I brown my chicken before I poach it, because it’s really unattractive without a nice sear, but if you don’t want to cook it in any fats, skip that step altogether and simmer the chicken for a couple more minutes.

Ingredients:
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 T butter (substitute coconut oil or olive oil if you’d like)
Sea salt
Pepper

Directions:
1. Heat a frying pan over medium-high heat (I used a cast-iron pan).
2. Heat your cooking fat thoroughly. I used butter, and deemed it ready when it was nice and frothy, and I could hear it bubbling.
3. Add the chicken and season and cook on each side until you get a nice sear (about 3 minutes per side).
4. Carefully add just enough water to cover the chicken on all sides. Bring the water to a boil, then cover and reduce to simmer. Keep covered until chicken is cooked through, about 8-10 minutes (check after 8 minutes – no one wants to eat dry chicken).
5. Remove cooked chicken from pan, slice, and serve!

I put on the quinoa while I was prepping the chicken, so everything finished cooking around the same time. I wilted some baby greens by rinsing them under very hot water, then tossed them with the warm quinoa. I sliced up a tomato and an avocado, threw in the poached chicken, and mixed everything with a glug of olive oil, a couple dashes of red wine vinegar, and a few twists of the salt and pepper grinders.

Sorry for the crappy photo quality – it’s a cell phone picture, and I’m a terrible food photographer. Food tastes way better than it looks. (I’m stuffing my face with the leftovers right now, trying to avoid the temptation of a muffin. Maybe if I close my eyes…)

Leave a Reply

